Daily Prompts

Unexpected losses…

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/11/daily-prompt-unexpected/

 

In my case, when I lost my father, I blocked out huge parts of that day. It’s been almost 20 yrs… still one of the worst things I’ve ever had to deal with. I cried so much that tears felt like battery acid on my skin, I alternated between anger and sadness. I learned that you should have a plan; me and hubby talked and discussed our plans. 

I remember sitting at my mom’s I was at the end of the couch, and the phone rang. I answered it and it was a woman who represented an organ donation company. She said she knew it was a hard time for us but that thanks to my dad, someone received the gift of sight that morning.

“Oh my god… that poor person! His vision sucked!” Was the words that popped out of my mouth without thinking. There was a moment of surprised silence on the other end and then she said: “But, to someone who’s never seen anything… it’s fantastic.”

I think that was the first time I smiled. 

 

As for losing a job unexpected… that also happened…

It was the day after Christmas, I suppose it shouldn’t have been a surprise and yet it was. Problem is, the job included the house and I’d just lost both. We sold the car we’d bought for our son, packed our stuff into a storage unit and ourselves along with the family dog and went to a hotel. We were there a week before the apartment was approved, it wasn’t easy when we didn’t have a job but we did it and when I returned the u-haul truck I ended up getting a job. I was only out of work a couple of weeks… but it’s scary.

 

Loss happens: Things happen sometimes people can cope and recover and sometimes their lives spiral into a hell they cannot escape. I was lucky… not everyone is…. Be kind to each other no matter what. You never know when you may need help yourself. Bad things happen to good people all the time. It’s not the problem that’s the problem… it’s how you deal with the problem. You get up and you soldier on…. or you lay down and bleed. 

 

5 thoughts on “Unexpected losses…”

Leave a Reply

