Actual call from my old job.

I’m at work, and a woman calls up wanting to know if I can give her a key to her unit. This is actual conversation! I had to laugh several times during this, although I really really tried hard not to.

**RING** 11:53 am 

Me: Thank you for calling _______ this is ______ How can I help you?
Her: Do you have my key? *No introdcution at all* 
Me: did you leave me a spare copy to hold?
Her: I dunno… my husband came and got the unit.. I’ve lost the key, can you get me another one?
Me: Did he buy the lock here?

her: I dunno! he just got a unit, how do I get another key?
Me: I dunno. The only way for you to get back into the unit is to cut the lock, or hire a locksmith *long silence*   Ma’am are you there?
Her: yes, I’m here, so you can’t get me another key?
Me: No, ma’am I don’t have one…
Her: Why not?
Me: Because we don’t keep a copy unless someone gives us one. We don’t have access to your belongings, but we can keep a copy in the safe if you think you may lose it and want it as a back up.
**She’s rattling things around as if I’ll change my answer/mind if she just waits long enough.**
Me: ma’am is there anything else I can do for you?
Her: No
*click*

 12:05  **RING**

Me: Thank you for calling _______ this is ______ How can I help you?
Her: Hi, it’s me again, now are you the facility I think you are? Because if you are, you’re on the left side of the road, and if you’re NOT, then I don’t want to come out there.

**Now at this point, I’m wondering how am I supposed to know what place she’s thinking of? because it depends on which direction she’s coming from. But! I’m polite**

Me: Ma’am what’s your last name, I’ll see if you’re with us.
 We establish that she has the right location… because she verifys hubby’s name and other information. which is good.
Her: okay thanks!
*click*

1:07 pm **RING!**

Me: Thank you for calling _______ this is ______ How can I help you?
Her: can you tell me how to get to you?
Me: where are you?
Her: I’m in the car, driving.
Me: *sigh* okay, ma’am what road are you one?
Her: You know that curvy one with the church and the school on it?
Me: No Ma’am.. where are you coming from?
Her: Haslet

**Okay, I am not from here, and have no idea where Haslet is… or what road she is on. I asked her if she knows any of the main roads that are near me, but it doesn’t matter because:**

Her: Oh!! I found you!
Me: you did? *looking for someone pulling into the lot* I don’t see you.
Her: I’m right here!
Me: Where?
Her: HERE!
Me: Ma’am there’s no one here…
Her: I’m right outside.
Me: Ermm no, you’re not.
Her: Are you SURE?
Me: *chuckle* yeah I’m pretty sure!
Her: I think I’m lost.
Me: I think so too *Ya think??*
Her: well, where am I?
Me: I don’t know. *lmao I’m dying on the inside*
Her: Here talk to ____ she’ll know.
Me: Do you know where X road is?
Her: no talk to ____.
Him: I’m on 820 where do I go from here?

*YAY! Now I’m happy, someone knows where they are!!!*

Me: Are you on X road?
Him: Yes.
Me: Go north from there, you’ll pass a grocery store named ____ on the right, do you see it?
Him: yes!
Me: keep going go through the next light, we are the brown building on the right.
Him: okay!
*click*

1:16 pm: **RING!!**  

I’m groaning because I KNOW who it is.. 
Me: Hello?
Her: we’re at Albertson’s… where are you?
Me: *lmao again inside* Is there a Walmart across from you.
Her: yes.
Me: is there a railroad track on your right?
Her: Yes
Me: Does the street sign say X road?
Her: Yes.
Me: Turn RIGHT… go to the very end of the road, make a Right. You’ll see a tree farm keep going.. then you’ll see a strip mall on the right just past that on the LEFT is US! Big Uhaul trucks out front.
Her: okay! Thanks.
*click*

1:27 pm *RING!* 

Me: on no! really? *picks up the phone* Hello?
Her: okay I’m at a light with a school.
Me: are you at the end of that road?
Her: No.
Me: keep going to the next light.
Her: okay.. bye!

*click*

1:28pm  **RING!**

Her: okay I’m there but I don’t see the tree farm.
Me: you don’t?
Her: no, but there’s a sign that says Trees for sale.
Me: That’s the tree farm. *Shakes head and tries not to laugh*
Her: ok
Me: do you see the Uhaul trucks now?
Her: Yes,
Me: turn LEFT at the trucks.
Her: okay, *silence* Am I here?
Me: do you have a little blue car with it’s blinker on?
Her: yes
Me: then you are here.
Her: Are you sure?
Me: *sigh/chuckle* Yes ma’am!

*CLICK!*

And NO… she WASN’T Blonde! 

Published by: Kawanee Hamilton

Kawanee was born in Alexandria Louisiana but her first real memories are of Russellville Arkansas. She's always loved to read, and has always had an vivid imagination. She grew up in a house where almost everyone read, they didn't need a TV although she could still be found planted on her butt in front of her grandma's TV watching cartoons on Saturday mornings. She made up her first story with her mother when her cat died; it was about where pets go when they die. She continued to create stories from bad dreams she had and her dad would help her change nightmares to stories. They would sit up in a chair until the scary went away. He told her that: "Dreams, good or bad, are just stories your mind makes up. You are the author of your dreams; if you don't like them rewrite them. " She was hooked and has continued to read and write stories drawing from dreams, sights and just pure imagination. She just recently decided she'd like to try and get published and fail than wonder what if. Her story continues but where it goes from here is up to you, the Reader... She hopes you'll join her in finding out where her journey goes from here!

Categories UncategorizedTags, , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

