Agree to Disagree… Daily Post

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Agree to Disagree.”


QUESTION:
Do you have a good friend or close relative with whom you disagree on a major issue (political, personal, cultural)? What’s the issue, and how do you make the relationship work?

Hmm me and my brother… we seem to disagree on everything. Politics, Religion, Football….The color of the sky. Our Facebook squabbles would number in 102 replies back and forth. I believe he was was used as a pogo-stick in the shallow end of the gene pool… and due to the traumatic brain injury has forgotten a large portion of our childhood… OR… was flashed by the memory erasing thingamabob in Men in Black… or… has decided (like many governments) to revise his history.

Either way, I can’t do that and maybe it’s my problem not his but I can’t stand it. It’s like he negates everything we’ve been through, the hurdles we overcame. We were on all kinds of public assistance and we weren’t proud of it, we didn’t flaunt it or take advantage of it. I wanted nothing more than to never have to do that again.

He fully buys into and supports doing away with programs that helped us. He’s against health care reform… He refuses to acknowledge the validity of an opposing view even when faced with statistics and new sources saying he’s wrong.

We disagree completely about football. His contention is my favorite quarterback just lucky that the receiver missed his route. By his assertion all quarterbacks in the NFL are just lucky…

I allow him to have whatever messed up political view of the world he wants to have. I expect him to the same for me, but…. that is too much to ask. Things escalated via facebook because he couldn’t just pass by whatever I said that he didn’t agree with. He simply HAD to say something.

I told him I was tired of him attacking my friends and myself. It was my wall, I can say anything I wanted… if he didn’t like it stay off of it. Send me a message privately. That didn’t work. Finally I had to tell him I was un-friending him. He didn’t like that his friendship was “conditional” and I told him, that we weren’t friends.

I love my brother don’t get me wrong, but you can be related to someone, love them and not be friends. Apparently that’s ANOTHER thing we don’t agree on, but I’ve enjoyed 3+ yrs of no drama on my facebook account and that makes me happy.

In person we chat… barely. He loves my hubby and talks to him. So… I guess we deal with it by not dealing with it, and we deal with the guilt trips that come from mom who want’s us to get along.

Not sure if that’s an answer or not.. but there it is.

Published by: Kawanee Hamilton

Kawanee was born in Alexandria Louisiana but her first real memories are of Russellville Arkansas. She's always loved to read, and has always had an vivid imagination. She grew up in a house where almost everyone read, they didn't need a TV although she could still be found planted on her butt in front of her grandma's TV watching cartoons on Saturday mornings. She made up her first story with her mother when her cat died; it was about where pets go when they die. She continued to create stories from bad dreams she had and her dad would help her change nightmares to stories. They would sit up in a chair until the scary went away. He told her that: "Dreams, good or bad, are just stories your mind makes up. You are the author of your dreams; if you don't like them rewrite them. " She was hooked and has continued to read and write stories drawing from dreams, sights and just pure imagination. She just recently decided she'd like to try and get published and fail than wonder what if. Her story continues but where it goes from here is up to you, the Reader... She hopes you'll join her in finding out where her journey goes from here!

Categories Uncategorized1 Comment

One thought on “Agree to Disagree… Daily Post”

Leave a Reply

