Live Long and Prosper…. ,

It’s not often I get emotional about an actor’s death, but when I do… it’s someone iconic. Death may claim our beloved actors: Robin Williams, Leonard Nimoy, William Shatner, and too many more to name here but it will never claim: Mork/Genie, Spock, or Captain Kirk. They will all Live Long and Prosper in the hearts and minds of the fans.

“A life is like a garden. Perfect moments can be had, but not preserved, except in memory. LLAP”

Star Trek is such a phenomenon and no matter how you feel about it, Star Trek has touched so many lives and changed our world forever. I still binge watch the series. I consider myself a bit of a Trekkie and can quote episodes, even though I’ve never made it to a single con ever, I don’t speak very much Klingon and I don’t know the episode names. It wasn’t until recently that I discovered I’m a novice in the Trekkie ranking despite my long term love affair with the series.

It started a long time ago when I got to watch as a kid and it instilled in me a love of Sci-fi. The first show I saw was: The Man Trap, the one with the salt vampire.  I wasn’t alone with my imaginary creatures anymore, someone else had a mind like my own. I was a dreamer, my head in the clouds and my mind rooted in fantasy instead of the here and now. I was hooked!

I’m not even ashamed to admit it, I even loved The Voyage Home with the whales. If you don’t like it, then double dumbass on you! I haven’t seen one of the movies or a series I didn’t like or a series I didn’t like for that matter. Voyager, TNG, TOS, Deep Space 9, Enterprise.. yes please!! I even had an Ilia action figure and I played Star Trek with my Barbies and my brother’s borrowed GI Joes.

Spock and me: He was so different from the crew and didn’t get the people around him and neither did I. He was just himself and that made him soooo freaking AWESOME to me.

When I was a teenager and was hearing about this Dr. Spock and his messed up child rearing ideas. I thought it was the actor using his Spock character and Vulcan logic to deal with the most illogical beings on the planet…(keep in mind he was the only Spock I knewThe grown ups were talking about it and I, (trying to sound like I knew something) remarked: “Leonard Nimoy might be a great actor but he doesn’t know SQUAT about children!” Oh man the grown ups nearly fell off their chairs and I was relieved to learn how wrong I was. Whew! I really didn’t like one of my hero’s having that kind of defect.

Then as an adult I was working in a video store and it was required to turn around around and greet whoever came in. It was a busy Friday night and when the bell rang I turned around and there were two Klingons in theater grade costumes. The words just died in my throat, I’m like 5ft 3 they were well over 6 ft and it made my entire night. I wish I could’ve gotten a picture! It was amazing!

And finally, last year my husband and I were fortunate enough to win a trip to Las Vegas to meet William Shatner for his one man show: Shatner’s World. Which was AHMAZING!!! We were so close I could see the whites of his eyes and seated behind the Roddenberry family. It’s poignant, funny, sad… and as I listened to him perform I realized this could be a last hurrah for our fearless Captain James T. Kirk and the idea of it made me teary eyed.

I am so very grateful to get to see the show live and to meet this dynamic actor, I only wish I could’ve met more of them. Thank you for letting me share my Star Trek experience with you, I hope you enjoyed it.

Published by: Kawanee Hamilton

Kawanee was born in Alexandria Louisiana but her first real memories are of Russellville Arkansas. She's always loved to read, and has always had an vivid imagination. She grew up in a house where almost everyone read, they didn't need a TV although she could still be found planted on her butt in front of her grandma's TV watching cartoons on Saturday mornings. She made up her first story with her mother when her cat died; it was about where pets go when they die. She continued to create stories from bad dreams she had and her dad would help her change nightmares to stories. They would sit up in a chair until the scary went away. He told her that: "Dreams, good or bad, are just stories your mind makes up. You are the author of your dreams; if you don't like them rewrite them. " She was hooked and has continued to read and write stories drawing from dreams, sights and just pure imagination. She just recently decided she'd like to try and get published and fail than wonder what if. Her story continues but where it goes from here is up to you, the Reader... She hopes you'll join her in finding out where her journey goes from here!

Categories celebrities, My opinion, RandomnessTags, , , 5 Comments

5 thoughts on “Live Long and Prosper…. ,”

  1. Hey Kawanee,
    My Star Trek friend! Thank you so much for following my blog.
    You got to meet Shatner!? Lucky!
    I had a chance to meet Nimoy. He was speaking locally. I don’t know why I didn’t go. Perhaps the tickets to hear him speak were costly, and I was busy…
    Now, look, he’s gone, and I’ll never have the chance. See, it shows we need to take opportunities when they present themselves.
    We should have an inside joke, if you like those. When we write, I’ll sign, Live long and prosper, and when you write me, you sign Live long and prosper, and nobody will get it but us.
    Just a thought, take it or leave it.
    At any rate, thanks again for following my blog. Actually, I don’t get to “talk” Star Trek with anybody anymore. I don’t know anyone else who appreciates it. Thank you for that.
    Welcome to Reflections. Big smile on my face today at work when I saw the notification.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve always considered myself a bit of a trekkie but when I got in line to meet Bill, there were people behind me talking about specific episodes by title and going on about the Gorn and how it changed and this and that and I realized…..

      I’m a ensign in the Trekkie ranks.

      When I lived in Maryland I had Klingons come in where I worked. I’m short as it is and they were humongous, very intimidating but also AMAZINGLY cool.

      Anytime you wanna talk Star Trek… count me in! 😀 Only one I never really got into was the one with Scot Bakula, but I’m slowly catching up.

      Last night watched an episode where they explained why the TOS Klingons looked very different from the TNG Klingons. was very cool.

      LLAP 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

