Daily Post

The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Beyond the Pale.”

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Beyond the Pale.”

Doing something new… and out of my element:

Last week I drove a big truck with a 30 ft trailer on it across country. I don’t like driving big vehicles or trailers. I’d never done it but no one died and there was no property damage. I’m now in the desert far from home learning a new job. I went from being in the corporate dealer support role to being in a dealership… I see what the dealers do and how they work on our cars and the procedures; I see the customers they are trying to serve.

I’m learning a lot, it’s outside of my comfort zone. Coding for accounting, learning labor codes, scheduling pick ups and deliveries of cars, title work with the DMV. Making appointments and allocating parts, accounting, it’s a lot to learn and a lot of responsibility. I’m honestly not sure what I’m going to after this is finished.

I want to go home. The 3 hr time difference is messing with my writing schedule and sleep… my ankles have been swollen since I got here. I don’t know if it is the altitude, the trip or what. I also have not had an appetite at all. Last Saturday I had a 6 inch sub at 2 pm and didn’t eat until breakfast Sunday and then didn’t eat until late that night. Monday I had a biscuit for breakfast, then a piece of pizza for lunch and made myself eat a few chicken strips and a salad.

I haven’t eaten since noon yesterday, and I’m not the least bit hungry. and it’s nearly noon again.

Leave a Reply

