Excerpts, The Enclave Series

An Excerpt from my WIP: #amediting

Shiloh snorted startling the rabbit. When it took off in a flash of a white tail she immediately started after the fleeing animal then jerked to a stop and looked up at him. *Oh my god, I wouldn’t eat the poor little thing would I?*

“No. It’s instinctual behavior.” Turi stepped in front of her redirecting her attention onto himself. “Prey runs, we chase. Focus; what do you smell?”

* There’s water that way; smells kind of fishy.* Shiloh wrinkled her nose then lifted a paw to point towards the stream he’d swam in the other night. * I dunno; leaves and dirt? Something’s been digging over there; it smells like potting soil and a skunk is around here somewhere. Aside from that, I wouldn’t know what a bear smells like or anything else because, you know, I don’t usually go around sniffing animals.*

“That’s the stream; it’s really cold this time of year. You’ll want to avoid that.” Turi nodded his approval. “You don’t have to know what a bear smells like. You’re a predator; if there were another predator in the area you would know it. Nothing out there sets your teeth on edge and that’s how you know that you don’t have to be nervous about running into anything else. You’re not nervous are you?”

*Well I wasn’t before but I am now.* She cocked her head as her green eyes flicked up to meet his. *What do you mean by “anything else?”*

“I mean… I’m giving you a head start.” Turi met her gaze. “If you make it to my house without me catching you, you win. Run Shiloh.”

*But prey runs.* Shiloh pointed out. *And I don’t know where it is… How do I-*

“Yes. It does…” Turi agreed with a suggestive grin. Through their connection, he felt the stab of excitement his words sent through her. “I am the most dangerous thing in these woods.” Turi glanced down at his watch; she would figure it out or he would catch her. “You have five minutes.”

*What do I win?* Shiloh asked while hesitating at the edge of the clearing.

“Bragging rights, but don’t worry about it. You won’t win.” Turi flashed his teeth at her in the pale moonlight. When she pulled a face at him he relented. “Alright, on the off chance you win: You get to name your prize. Whatever you want.”

Leave a Reply

