Randomness

A fun little prompt.

You can share them in comments if you want, or just do it in private for fun.

 

Here’s mine:

A man with wispy graying hair stood on my doorstep; he worried a hat with his fingers. It was held in front of him as if to shield himself from an emotional blow. My eyes raked over him in disbelief. I was older now, and so was he. He was shorter than I remembered, the strain lines etching his face were deep and his blue eyes had faded. I’d put him through hell. When he opened his arms, I threw myself against his chest sobbing. “I love you, dad.”

9 thoughts on “A fun little prompt.”

      1. A sentence, a paragraph. You didn’t need a whole paragraph to convey your meaning. It was awesome.

        Also:

        72?! And you’re blogging… wow! My mom is only 67 and she wouldn’t get this at all. She’s awesome, but not with technology. Better than some, but worse than others.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I looked at her and said, “I screwed up, okay. It’s not the first time and probably won’t be the last, but at least I recognize that I screwed up.”
    She looked at me with condescending eyes and just nodded her head in agreement.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. My eyes filled with tears at the hurt in his face over what I had said in anger. I put my arms around him.
    ‘I didn’t mean it,’ I whispered. ‘I truly didn’t mean it. I love you so much.’

    Oh, and I, too, am 72 (todoy, actually) and I blog, tweet and otherwise use social media, play games too. There are quite a lot of us oldies on various threads.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love it. I think we’ve all been through that.

      Tomorrow is my birthday, I’ll be forty-something 😛 I know there are oldies out there being tech/social media savvy; my mom just isn’t one of them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

