authors

Leg Update:

So I called them back, talked to someone else. I have a blood clot in a superficial vein and I’m supposed to take aspirin for the next 3 months. I also have been told to wrap my leg in an ace bandage, elevate it, and apply heat 4x a day.

HA, when I told them I wanted to stop hurting, the nurse said: We don’t prescribe narcotics… I’m like WOMAN, I said make it stop hurting. I meant FIX it, not give me something to not care about it hurting. Why do they assume I want drugs? They don’t fix the problem.

It’s been wrapped and I’m keeping it elevated as much as I can…. seems to be helping. That’s good! Not sure what they want to do about the skin peeling off, but one step at a time. My insurance sent me a letter saying it was cellulitis… supposedly treated with antibiotics, which I just finished taking.

We’ll see… but that is an update… feels better…

I’m still fighting with them about what’s causing the skin to come off and about WHY it’s numb in places. Like nerve damage.

Baby steps… baby steps.

10 thoughts on “Leg Update:”

  1. Here are two different explanations, hope they help.

    Symptoms of Deep Vein Thrombosis

    Deep vein thrombosis occurs without symptoms about 50 percent of the time. When symptoms of deep vein thrombosis do occur, they may include:

    swelling in the leg
    red, discolored, or white skin
    a cord in a leg vein that can be felt
    rapid heart beat (tachycardia)
    slight fever
    warm skin
    more visible surface veins
    dull ache, tightness, tenderness or pain in the leg (these symptoms may only occur while walking or standing)
    The symptoms of deep vein thrombosis may resemble other medical conditions or problems. Always consult your physician for a diagnosis.

    Cellulitis
    Cellulitis is a bacterial infection involving the inner layers of the skin. It specifically affects the dermis and subcutaneous fat. Signs and symptoms include an area of redness which increases in size over a few days. The borders of the area of redness are generally not sharp and the skin may be swollen. While the redness often turns white when pressure is applied, this is not always the case. The area of infection is usually painful. Lymphatic vessels may occasionally be involved, and the person may have a fever and feel tired.

    Just make sure he knows what he’s talking about. I hope this helps. Speedy recovery. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. it’s a superficial vein, not deep vein. So that’s good. They had me on antibiotics for 10 days. I’m doing what they said, and I’m apply a topical antibiotic ointment and it seems to be doing the trick. I think I see a reduction in size of the redness.

      Hopeful…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. And they expect you to do all this, hold down a job and not worry about your skin falling off? Oh dear me, was I sarcastic about health professionals there?
    So sorry to hear you’re still having trouble with them. My wishes for a better week this week. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sure.. why not? I mean… we shed skin cells every day, and I’m a woman… so of course I’m being a hysterical hypochondriac who only wants pain meds.

      BTW, I still have ALL the pain pills they gave me 2 yrs ago for a gall bladder attack. IF I wanted pills I’d have taken them. *SMH* I hate health care here, but at least I have insurance now, can you imagine if I didn’t?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

