Uncategorized

Social Media, Book Signings & Why Neither Directly Impact Overall Sales

Social Media, Book Signings & Why Neither Directly Impact Overall Sales.

At first I was unhappy and a bit discouraged because as a writer I have to say there’s a LOT of marketing plans and there’s sooooo much conflicting information. Do this! Don’t do that!!! This worked for me! Don’t waste your time, that doesn’t work.

UGH!!!! I’m chasing my tail and spinning my wheels but going nowhere. I created a blog and a facebook page as well as many other pages on social media sites to help promote my books. Not even 1 book that has sold was due to that hard work. ANNOYING!!! I could’ve been writing!

So as I read through the post I realized she was right. It isn’t that social media is a waste of time, it is just not a viable or reliable way to sell books. So don’t hang all your hopes on it…. I get that.

It is a way to build hype for established authors and their books; to help build fan bases and get feedback from other writers and to seem approachable. To get encouragement maybe.

1 thought on “Social Media, Book Signings & Why Neither Directly Impact Overall Sales”

  1. It was a great post, and I think very right in what it said. Social media is for social and building up an online presence, not for shoving marketing in everyone’s faces 😀 But yeah, there is so much info out there on marketing, it can be overwhelming at times.

    Like

Leave a comment